My Aunt Mamie had a Singer sewing machine.  She kept her buttons and pins in little metal tins that I will never be able to find the equivalent of today in stores.  If I comb through yard sales and goodwill some day I might have the fortune of finding them.

Today, my mother still uses that same sewing machine.  Mamie died when I was young, but I knew her husband till he died at the age of 90, a millionaire and still washing out Ziploc Baggies.

Quilting is as old as America, though not as prevalent in colonial times as we are led to believe in movies and television.    Until the 1840’s when fabrics were more readily available, quilting was considered rare and a hobby of those who were wealthy enough to afford household assistance.

Quilting sees popularity resurgences, like in the 1920’s and today.   The craft has recently taken on hold with younger generations and popular quilting groups like classmates of mine did a story on.

My mother, though time passing, has come to own shirts from both of my grandfathers- both great men who influenced hordes of people within their lives and were well loved.

So when she started sewing pillows with their shirts, it was an automatic hit.

Now I love my papa. Don’t get me wrong.  He was a refrigerator of a man who ate butter pecan ice cream despite his diabetes, made friends with everyone, and had a basement with saloon doors. Which are freaking awesome if you are a small child.

But the amount of shirts he had that matched each other perfectly was like he was planning for me to quilt these pillows.

My mother cut out the pieces for the first one and sewed the pattern together before I became involved.  We used a basic square pattern  (he was a basic guy, if you can tell from the patterns).

Quilting is an easy but detailed process.With square patches surrounded in three inch borders of similar (or the same) fabrics, this pattern is an easy go.

I may have gone a little overboard on the three shirts I picked and their patterns but they matched perfectly the chairs and couch I have from the same grandfather. So I’m a sap.

